The Yankees Set Their Rotation

The New York Yankees rotation is set, finally. Many questions surrounded the Bronx Bombers this Spring especially with Bartolo Colon in the mix. However, the Yankees once again ignored the nay-sayers and the critics. The only question remains, will the new Yankee rotation and bullpen survive the AL East?

From the fan’s perspective, I’m not placing all my hopes on Freddy Garcia and Ivan Nova. I’m certainly not expecting a stellar 2011 from Colon. However, I do believe the addition of Garcia and Nova is a step in the right direction. Let’s face it, if Burnett can be consistent, the top 3 will do some damage. I think Yankees manager Joe Girardi’s strategy is simple, get Sabathia, Burnett, and Hughes decent relief and the Yank’s will put up some wins.

Having consistency with their 4th and 5th starters will take pressure off of Sabathia especially. New York lacked that in 2010. Are there better rotations in the Majors? Of course. But throw-in the lineup the Yankees have, with the leadership on the field of a certain short stop, you have a winning combination.

Some Yankee haters will say when you have a payroll exceeding $200 million, you should get wins. I agree, however money doesn’t guarantee a division title or a World Series ring. So before all you Red Sox fans start rattling off salaries and how much money the Yankees shell out for players, lets remember talent wins games. I think the Yankees are fielding a strong rotation. I think they will give the Fenway faithful some fits in 2011.

At the end of the day, it is the fans that will benefit. Last season there wasn’t much to say about the Yankees and Red Sox. This season will be different. Call it a hunch.

Agree? Disagree? Let me know what you think!

2 thoughts on “The Yankees Set Their Rotation

  1. I don’t think the payroll should guarantee wins, but I do think that this team is getting a little long in the tooth and that the pitching staff is a major question mark. They are ripe for the taking this year, but that’s why they play the game.

    Cano, Texiera, and ARod is a pretty sick combination — even I have to admit that!

    • If you asked me a few months ago, I would’ve said the Yankee pitching will be the downfall. However, I have to agree with what they did with the rotation. I also have a feeling that Burnett’s efforts this offseason will payoff. I think the Yankee pitching is going to surprise everyone and keep the Yanks in contention.

Leave a Reply

