Barry Bonds and the fans

Barry Bonds was acquitted on 3 counts and found guilty on obstruction of justice yesterday in Federal Court. So what? The Bonds steroid saga needs to come to an end. Not so much for baseball’s sake, but for the fans. Barry Bonds and the rest of the steroid generation need to simply go away.

I promised myself I wouldn’t rant about this topic. I posted last week it’s time to move on. With the retirement of Manny Ramirez, my hope was we wouldn’t revisit the steroid issue until five years after Alex Rodriguez retired. Then I remembered Roger Clemens.

Barry Bonds is symbolic of his generation of baseball players. Bigger, badder, faster, and ultimately tainted records. Should any of these players get into Cooperstown? No, they should not. I do not deny Bonds, McGwire, Palmeiro, and all the others had natural talent. However, why did they need the steroids and other performance enhancers? I have one idea to posit: they weren’t that good to begin with.

Buster Olney of ESPN stated one idea regarding steroid users and the Hall of Fame: put the steroid use on the player’s plaque. If they are going to be voted in, then it should be there for all to see. Again, I don’t want to see any of these players in the Hall. However, I don’t vote and I don’t sit on the Veteran’s Committee. So I will agree with Olney on this if these players end up in Cooperstown.

Each fan must decide for themselves on this generation of players. As for Bonds, lets all just move on. There are significantly more important things to concern ourselves with. Some fans commented the government is wasting millions on this trial when the budget battle continues. My response to this is mixed. In one respect yes. However, no one should be above the law. We need to remember the Bonds case is part of the larger Balco case. In the end, there are no winners in this. Let’s just move on.  

Agree? Disagree? Let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

