bin Laden’s death gives perspective on baseball

As I listened to NPR detail how Osama bin Laden was killed on Sunday, I paused for a moment and thought back nearly 10 years. I can remember being in my college apartment watching the horror of that Tuesday morning. Obviously I blog about baseball. However, the events of the last 36 hours gave me perspective. How fortunate I am to be able to blog about baseball. How fortunate I am to be an American.

We as Americans love our sports. Baseball is in our blood. I sometimes wonder if George Washington would’ve been a Yankee or Red Sox fan. Obviously Ben Franklin would have his Phillies. Lincoln would’ve loved the Cubs. Needless to say, while I love baseball and sports in general, there are significantly more important things in this world.

Baseball is a game. I remember baseball didn’t even matter to me on that day in September 2001. It didn’t matter for a long time after honestly. I had family who witnessed those events first hand and luckily survived. I’ve had family and friends go overseas to fight in Afghanistan and Iraq. The point is we are fortunate. The point is we are lucky. The point is, baseball is a game and only that. In the end, we don’t need it. However, let’s give thanks to all those who protect us so we can so we can have it.

Leave a Reply

