The Amazing Downfall of the New York Mets

The baseball season is in full swing. There are surprises everywhere. From the Tampa Bay Rays being in first place in the AL East, to Liriano’s no-hitter, to Cleveland being dominant, MLB is producing some great entertainment. Then there are the Mets.

Historically the Mets haven’t been the greatest team to take the field. Yes, there was 1969 and 1986. There was also 1973 where the Mets lost to Oakland in the World Series. As this Yankee fan can remember there was also 2000, (which I am not allowed to speak about around my Met fan mother-in-law).  The Mets have had star players, Gary Carter, Strawberry, Gooden, and Cone. Today, they have David Wright, Beltran, and Jose Reyes.

However, the Mets go from bad to worse almost weekly. I’ve discussed before the problems with the Mets seem to be endemic to the organization. From the leadership on down.  Now, Ike Davis goes down.

I don’t know what there is to say about the Mets. I’m not giving sympathy as much as I’m just in awe at how everything seems to be falling apart in Queens. Unfortunately, I have no answers. I don’t think anyone truly does.

Leave a Reply

