The Diamondbacks in the Desert

Something is brewing in the desert of Arizona, and it’s not a beer that goes well with steak. The Arizona Diamondbacks are in first place. Just like the surprise team in Cleveland, the Diamondbacks are making a charge. Why is this surprising? Well, simple, Arizona wasn’t supposed to be that good.

I picked the Colorado Rockies to win the NL West and I’m remain confident in my pick.  With Buster Posey out for the season, I think the Giants will begin to feel the loss. The Diamondbacks are currently 30-24 and lead the division by .5 game. I’m not saying they will even make the playoffs, but I feel this is rather impressive. The highest paid player in Arizona is second baseman Kelly Johnson. He’s batting .224. I would venture to guess most baseball fans can’t name more than 1 or 2 players on the team. But who cares?

The Diamondbacks are adding to my proof you don’t need to spend $200 million a year to win. Of course, I still can’t name more than 1 or 2 players on the team. I digress. Come October I don’t believe Arizona will be in the hunt, but it is a long season and anything can happen.

Kudos to Arizona. Thanks D-Backs for making this season interesting.

Agree? Disagree? Let me know what you think!

All statistical data from espn.go.com.

Leave a Reply

