A Yankee fan freaking out…not really

Andy Pettitte

Andy Pettitte (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The world is ending Yankee fans. Let’s hunker down. I hope your doomsday bunker is ready. As soon as we adjusted to life without Mariano Rivera, the baseball gods struck another blow. Both C.C. Sabathia and Andy Pettitte went down in one day. Give me a moment while I down some strawberry flavored Tums.

OK, now that I’m done with the dramatic behavior, let’s think about this. Sabathia is only missing two starts. Life really won’t come to an end. The bigger concern is the comeback kid, Andy Pettitte.

Pettitte’s Return In Jeopardy

Is Pettitte’s return truly in jeopardy? I don’t think so. Considering what Andy accomplished so far in his Major League return, I believe he will be just fine. What’s more, when he returns he’ll be fresh. A rejuvenated and ready-to-pitch Andy is just what the Yankees will need down the stretch.

I’ve said this before, baseball is a long season. Emphasis on the long. The Yankees are nothing if not able to cope with adversity. Thankfully I’m not a manager in the big leagues. I’m not sure if there are enough antacids to cope.

So my fellow Yankee fans, relax. Breathe. Things will be just fine in the Bronx. Let’s just hope Freddy Garcia can go more than two innings.

Disclaimer: this post is more personal therapy than anything else. There are times when, as a fan, you just need to vent. Thanks for reading.

2 thoughts on “A Yankee fan freaking out…not really

  1. What will be interesting is to see if some of the other teams in that division can capitalize on the Yankee injuries between now and the All-Star break. But you’re right, it is a long season, so no need to panic, yet.
    Bill

    • Although the Red Sox are tied with the Rays at 6.5 games back, I think the season is out of reach for Boston. Toronto obviously out of it as well. Baltimore is the bigger concern. I think Showalter has an uncanny ability to motivate that team. His focus on fundamentals is what got them off to a good start. Five games isn’t much of lead considering we still have an entire second half to play. The Rays will play spoiler for the Orioles I think. But ultimately, who knows? This is why I now stray away from pre-season picks. Thanks for reading!

      Vince

Leave a Reply

